A massive, massive thank you

This book wouldn’t look half as stylish if it weren’t for Kate Wilson. The thing is, she  was never meant to be in this book.

Kate, an illustrator who has worked for the likes of Marc Jacobs and Liberty, wasn’t commissioned until late in the process. Pages were laid out, but despite the amazing photos from Luke and the brilliant black-and-white, step-by-step illustrations by my Dad, something was missing. Hannah, my editor-extraordinaire, reckoned something colourful would do the trick. (Above is one of my favourite images, to give you a flavour of what she did.)

It did, and despite being really rather ill (she explains a bit more on her blog) Kate worked her damnedest to make sure they were done in time for my deadline. I really can’t thank her enough. Kate – you are an absolute legend.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Material World: The Modern Craft Bible

Leave a comment