And finally, Quilts 1700-2010 at the V&A opens.

I’ve been waiting to see it since August (when I saw a preview by curator Sue Prichard at the Festival of Quilts awards ceremony).

I’ve been reading about it for days (I got a preview of the book last week).

I finally saw it last night.

It was excellent. Read Viv Groskop’s piece for G2 arts for a better idea of what it’s like. Don’t read Germaine Greer’s piece on it (also for G2 arts) unless you want to get really angry with her.

Go see it too (although book now, advance sales have been mega – that’s quilters for you. Loads of them fly to the UK for the Festival of Quilts each year. They stay for all four days. Wow).

(I’ve written quite a bit about quilting over the last year. You wanna see? It’s here. My favourite pieces at the Festival of Quilts, why I thought quilting could stage a comeback in 2010, where to look and what you need to start quilting, and a mini tour of the V&A exhibition via the medium of the online picture gallery.)

Other pieces you might like to read: Tracey Emin’s applique quilt design for The Times and the story behind four of the quilts in the Independent.

Leave a comment

Filed under Craft + art, Craft + fashion, Craft in the Guardian, Craft in the Times, Craft on the interweb, Crafty happenings, Fabric, OMG, Patchwork, Quilting, Things I have seen, Things I've made

Leave a Reply

