Sack off buying actual couture. You can just make it instead.

DIY couture fashion shoot

Photographer: Mengxi Zhang

Last year I had a lovely email from a lady called Rosie – she was planning to produce a collection of clothes that worked uber-well together then, rather than sell them, sell the patterns for them instead. A cracking idea, I thought. And a cracking name: DIY couture.

Zip forward to 2010 and she’s just dropped me another email to let me know how she’s getting on. From what I can see, she’s bossing it. Three of the final 12 books are already produced (my favourite is the cloak) and they are all, as she wanted, so very easy to follow, whether you’ve sewed before or not. Well worth a look.

2 Comments

Filed under 8. PEOPLE WHO MAKE, 9. HOW TOS, Craft books, Craft on the interweb, Fabric, Local people who do good, Oooh

2 responses to “Sack off buying actual couture. You can just make it instead.

  1. Audwina

    Perri, I think this is my new favourite site. I always thought I’d suck at making clothes but this has given me hope.
    Stick that in your Google Reader pipe and smoke it !

    Thank you for posting x

  2. Pingback: DIY Couture « AjoureBlog

Leave a Reply

