The craft to end all other crafts

This weekend I went to Hay literary festival (more to come in a second post). I bought a book which may mean I will never do any other craft any again.

Seed picture making.

What a book.

You make pictures. With seeds.

Words cannot describe this craft. So here are some pictures:

The wonderful peacock on the front cover. How very elegant.

The wonderful peacock on the front cover. How very elegant.

A handy index of seed. There are eight pages like this.

A handy index of seed. There are eight pages like this.

A picture of Roger. Roger and his wife Glenda wrote this book. Did she make it for him, with love?

A picture of Roger, the author of the book. Possibly made by Glenda, the other author of this book. And his wife. Ah, the love!

5 Comments

Filed under Things I have bought, Things I have seen

5 responses to “The craft to end all other crafts

  1. GrowingOldGracefully

    Wow, I love this idea. I homeschool my two youngest and this would make an excellent art idea. Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. Ok I utterly love this. Seeds! Pictures! Seeds as pictures! That is a precious tome you have there. The eight pages of seed identification alone make it a keeper.

    Treasure it always.

    Is it very wrong that I quite fancy Roger?

    • Maia

      er, as he looks from here like Zac Ephron, probably not, by democratic vote. Prefer Ms. Hudgens myself, but then worry i’m a paedophile (35!).
      Basically it’s like mosaic, but the curved shapes are like embroidery shapes; very elegant, thanks for posting

  3. Thanks for reminding me of this very old craft! I did this at school myself!

  4. Pamela

    Ahhh, I remember making seed pictures at primary school, many years ago. In my memory, I made an exquisite crinoline lady. In reality, it probably looked like nothing on earth!

Leave a Reply

